July 2023


Visit the WASLA Event Calendar for more information on events.

Newsletter Editor

We need a new newsletter editor! Please email [email protected] if you're interested.

WASLA Board of Directors

Nicholas Zurlini, ASLA

Past President
Duane Dietz, ASLA

Marieke Lacasse, ASLA

Su Wanqin, ASLA

Jason Henry, ASLA

Member at Large
Maureen Colaizzi, ASLA

Member at Large, W. WA
Mike Faulkner, ASLA

Member at Large, E. WA
Joshua Tripp, ASLA

Our Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Newsletter Sponsors

President's Remarks

Dear WASLA Members and Readers,


I have been saying it in almost every newsletter, and I will continue to until September 15th; the WASLA State Conference will be here before you know it! It’s now less than two months away (and, yes, happening on September 15th). We have received some fantastic submissions for sessions, workshops, and walking tours, and I am incredibly excited to hold this year’s conference at such a unique and design-focused venue. Keep an eye on your emails as we will soon be releasing our conference schedule.

I also want to congratulate our National Conference Stipend recipients; Renee Li, Clelie Fielding, Mallak Al-Salmi, and Anuhya Konda. If you know them or work with them, let them know how awesome they are! For those who have not heard of WASLA’s National Conference Stipend, we offer the opportunity for up to two students and up to two emerging professionals to attend the national conference with financial support from WASLA. By writing an essay that addresses a prompt put out by the Student and Emerging Professionals Committee, recipients are then selected based on how well they address the prompt. Although it is too late to get a stipend for this year’s conference in Minneapolis, I hope to have even more essays submitted for 2024’s conference in Washington DC.

There are some more amazing people that I want to congratulate, and those people are our new WASLA Fellows; Marieke Lacasse, Guy Michaelsen, and Jeffrey Hou. These individuals also deserve to know how awesome they are (so if you know them let them know!). Being elevated to Fellow is one of the highest honors in ASLA and recognizes the dedication they have shown towards advancing the profession. You can read more about this honor and the other Fellows below.

Lastly, it was great seeing so many people at our first Open Studio Social of the year! We will be hosting several more this summer at firms and parks and I hope to see more new and familiar faces at these socials. And a big thank you to all our sponsors who help support the events that bring our landscape architecture community together.


   WASLA President

Open Studio Social

Hosted by Berger Partnership and Pacific Earth Works WBE

July 27, 2023 | 5 - 7pm
Berger Partnership Office
1927 Post Alley, Ste. 2 | Seattle, WA 98101

Open Studio Socials bring members, chapter sponsors and local firms together to host a happy hour event at a firm’s office space. Open Studio Socials are open to everyone and are a great way to get a glimpse into the host firm’s culture. It also allows for networking within the local landscape architecture community.

Play a game of Plinko with Pacific Earth Works WBE and enter their raffle to win Club Seats to a weekend Sounders game in August! Local beers, wines, and nibbles served.

Please send RSVP by Tuesday, July 25th!

This event is made possible by the generous support of:

Calling all Sponsors and Exhibitors!

Our Exhibitor Hall is ALMOST FULL!

This year's conference, EXCHANGE, will be hosted at a unique new venue: UW's Global Innovation Exchange (GIX). Our exhibitor hall will take center stage on the bright and airy main floor of GIX - the central hub for conference attendees. We hope to see you there!

The 2023 Conference will take place September 15th at GIX. 

GIX is part of University of Washington and is located at:

Steve Ballmer Building
12280 NE District Way
Bellevue, WA 98005

GIX Website

Thank You 2023 Conference Sponsors & Exhibitors
Congratulations 2023 WASLA Student Awards Recipients !

Congratulations to the following graduates from the Class of 2023!  They were nominated by their respective faculty to present a 20-minute narrative of their projects and student careers.

University of Washington

Bachelor’s students

Jhesmaron Bernardino – Honor Award

Isa Lewis – Merit Award

Master’s students

Seyyada Burney – Honor Award

Rhys Coffee – Honor Award

Dominique De Gracia – Merit Award

Jack Hyland – Merit Award

Washington State University

Bachelor’s students

Erin Hayashida - Merit Award

Josh Gilleland - Honor Award

Malak Al-Salmi - Merit Award


And thank you to Nick Zurlini and Anne Larsen for organizing our WASLA jury members who volunteered their sunny Saturdays to meet with our students and provide insightful feedback.

BLA Jury: Carrie Culp (Urban Oasis), Rikerrious Geter (GGN), Tori Halligan (PLACE), Deb Peterson (WSDOT), Vaughn Rinner (ASLA)

MLA Jury:  Matt Gurrad (HDR), Juli Hartwig (WSDOT), Anuhya Konda (Osborn), Wanqin Su (Blueline)

Meet the 2023 Class of the Council of Fellows

The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has elevated 48 members as ASLA Fellows for their exceptional contributions to the landscape architecture profession and society at large. Election to the ASLA Council of Fellows is among the highest honors ASLA bestows on members.

Congratulations to our New WASLA Fellows:

  • Marieke Lacasse, ASLA, GGLO, Seattle, Washington
  • Guy Michaelsen, ASLA, Berger Partnership, Seattle, Washington
  • Jeffrey Hou, ASLA, University of Washington, Seattle


Free PDH of the Month

Members now have access to free monthly PDH live webinars and recordings via ASLA Online Learning. | Read More

Welcome Members!

A very warm welcome to our new and renewing WASLA Members:


Alyse R. Wright

Amber V. Mikluscak

April Miller

Charles E. Burget

David Bader

David Henry Berleth

Elizabeth Anderson

Eric Bechler

Heidi Kludt

Jessica Rose Kleinschmit

Julia Bakke

Julie M. Johnson

Karen A. Galt

Karen Tomkins

M. Mario Campos

Meredith Hall

Michael Anthony Sanchez

Robin Croen

Ryan J. Weston

Sarah Haynes

Scott Jennings Melbourne

Thomas Craig Sherry

Interested in becoming a member?  Learn more  about benefits of membership. Join today!

Current Job Postings


Connect with Us: