Congratulations to WASLA Professional Award Winners

Eight projects won 2017 Professional Awards from the Washington Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (WASLA) at a ceremony held recently at the Olympic Sculpture Park in Seattle.

The awards honor excellence in landscape architectural design and planning, recognizing projects by Washington-based landscape architects that can be located anywhere in the world.

The Arizona-based jury was made up of Mary Estes, principal at Norris Design and SITES and LEED AP; Brett Anderson, founding principle at AndersonBaron and indigenous plant material specialist; Laura Paty, landscape architect and planner and the president-elect for AzASLA; Jay Hicks, managing principal at Dig Studio; and Aaron Allan, landscape architect and guest lecturer at ASU.

Award: Award of Excellence (General Design)
Project: Prairie Line Trail 
Landscape architect:
 PLACE Studio
Owners: University of Washington
Photo by: Jeff Caven


 Award: Honor Award (General Design)
Project: Mercer Corridor Improvements Projects: East Phase
Landscape architect:
 HBB Landscape Architecture
Owners: Seattle Department of Transportation
Photo by: Dave Kronstad

Award: Honor Award (Small Projects, under $750,000 landscape construction budget)
Project: Pryotek Headquarters
Landscape architect:
 Land Expressions, LLC
Owners: Pyrotek Corporation
Photo by: Clayton Varick

Award: Honor Award (Analysis and Planning)
Project: Sound Transit Lynnwood Link Light Rail Extension 
Landscape architect:
 Swift Company
Owners: Sound Transit
Image by: Swift Company


For other winners, go to our 2017 Awards Winner Page

Return to November Newsletter