Grant Jones, FASLA, Selected for the College of Built Environments Roll of Honor
Please Save the Date: Recognition Ceremony is April 29th

Professor Grant Jones, '61, FASLA

The University of Washington College of Built Environments is pleased to announce the selection of two individuals to be added to the Roll of Honor located in the auditorium of Architecture Hall.

Selected for the Roll of Honor are Roland Terry FAIA, and Grant Jones, FASLA.  A celebration for the honorees will take place Wednesday, April 29, 2015. 

“The Roll of Honor recognition ceremony is an important event in the life of the college.  It enables us to recognize extraordinary practitioners of the disciplines represented and to celebrate their many exceptional accomplishments.  Those chosen for the recognition are persons whose careers have been of genuinely extraordinary significance.   They serve as inspiring examples for all of us to emulate,” Dean John Schaufelberger said.   

Professor Grant Jones, ’61, FASLA is a leading Seattle landscape architect who has helped shaped the concepts and approaches to landscape theory and practice through advocacy for ecological design. Jones received his MLA from Harvard in 1966. In 1969, Jones founded Jones & Jones Architects + Landscape Architects, along with Ilze Jones and Johnpaul Jones, serving as partner and senior principal until his retirement in 2011. Under his leadership, the firm’s work emphasized a partnership with nature and the creation of place-responsive designs. 

The firm pioneered in areas such as river and highway corridor planning and design, context sensitive roadway design, zoological and botanical gardens, parks and cultural centers. Recognizable projects include the Nooksack River Plan, the Woodland Park Zoo reconstruction plan, Paris Pike Highway project in Kentucky and U.S. Highway 93 through the Flathead Indian Reservation in Montana.

Jones also shaped the field of landscape aesthetics, developing the dominant methodology for assessing the visual quality of landscape under NEPA (National Environmental Protection Act). Jones has been a part-time visiting faculty member at UW and served as Director of Education for the Landscape Architecture Foundation. Jones has been recognized as a Fellow of the ASLA and Jones & Jones was the first recipient of the ASLA Firm of the Year Award in 2003. 

The College of Built Environments Roll of Honor was created in 1986. The eight original honorees include Ellsworth Storey, Carl Gould, Lancelot Gowen, Lionel Pries, B. Marcus Priteca, Paul Thiry, Paul Kirk, Victor Steinbrueck.  Other recognizable honorees include Rich Haag, Meyer Wolfe, Robert C. Reamer and Wendell Lovett.

For more information, contact Allie Rock, College of Built Environments, advancement services officer, at 206-685-3751 or [email protected].

Back to March Newsletter